Honoring thy teacher

I’m sorry that I have taken a break from blogging, but I have been pursuing other forms of creative expression, and my dog, Ginger got very sick for several months, but she is kicking cancers butt. There are so many ways that I enjoy expressing myself and I found great joy in bringing my old profession and hobby back to life in a way that still allowed me to showcase my dedication to yoga, and to all the great teachers that have influenced me over the years. I apologize for my absence, but I know we can all relate to the feeling that there are only so many hours in the day, and they never seems to be enough. I have a stack of notes with ideas scribbled on them for future blogs that I still intend to write. I hope you enjoy why I took a break. These drawings and paintings are how I have been spending my spare time. I have been refining an old skill I once had and used to thoroughly enjoy.

Even in Art, Pattabhi Jois had it right “Practice, Practice, Practice and all is coming.” Art is a skill like anything else that gets better with practice. And it is also true that yoga and art are best maintained by remembering that they are “99%practice and 1% theory”, Because no matter how much I might read about how to paint a portrait, the only real thing that is going to get me there is to practice painting portraits. So this is my yoga practice off the mat and in the world, I hope you enjoy seeing the other ways I spend my time.

B.K.S. Iyengar, Pencil.

B.K.S. Iyengar, Pencil.

IMG_2707

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, Acrylic.

IMG_1498

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, Pencil.

IMG_1415

Tim Miller – my teacher, Pencil.

IMG_8749

My Grandfather – John Yaksic, Pencil.

Categories: For the beginner | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.